This Giveaway is Closed!

image

I had the pleasure of reading, “Along the Fortune Trail” by Harvey Goodman. Westerns have always been a favorite of mine to watch as movies. John Wayne was always on the top of my list of movies to watch. Loved the old westerns of the 1950’s and 1960’s. I just never got into the genre as books to read. Don’t know why but as a historical romance/adventure, westerns just never did it for me. “Along the Fortune Trail” however did hold my interest and was a fun read.

I got to  interview Mr. Goodman:

Q:   How long have you been writing novels?

A:  This is my first novel

Q:   What made you decide to write a western since that is not one of the current “popular” historical novel themes?

A: I’ve always enjoyed Westerns. I have read everything Louis L’amour ever wrote, and quite a bit of Zane Grey, Larry McMurtry, Cormac McCarthy, and others. But I don’t think my style would be characterized as  anything resembling the aforementioned. Although I’ve read a broad spectrum of genres, and most of my all-time favorite books are not westerns, my love of the outdoors and my experiences in very remote places of the west compelled me to write a western.

Q:  Lonny and Sammy are definitely unique characters that you obviously had a great time developing but which character was the most fun? The hero or the very bad man?

A: All of the characters were great fun, and in creating them I came to intimately know and understand each one’s contribution to the story, as a painter would in using different colors and techniques of shading and nuance to complete a work. I had the most fun with Sammy but also very much enjoyed Blaine, Emily, Claire and Margaret, and Annie Jordan of the Jupiter Sky. Lonny was challenging and pursued his own fortune trail, but of course served a distinctive purpose. I also enjoyed the brief but interesting appearance of Clip and Odie.

Q:  Are you working on anything right now?

A: I just began writing my second novel. It’s a sequel to Along The Fortune Trail.

Q:  What do you enjoy most about the writing process?

A:  For me, the writing process is like taking a journey, or perhaps more like climbing a mountain; Mount Everest comes to mind. The trip is both brutally challenging and beautifully fulfilling. Writing delivers you to a sanctuary where your purpose becomes defined and your worth validated as you attempt to raise the infant through childhood and on to the fulfillment of its potential.  And all of this is undertaken to create something that the reader, the audience will enjoy. If you can manage to entertain an audience, your journey and purpose is consummated and extremely gratifying

Q:  Can we look forward to more novels?

A: I expect to write more novels and have considered expanding to other genres. For the moment, however, on with the wild west show!

You can buy a copy of “Along the Fortune Trail” by Harvey Goodman here.

Or you can enter this giveaway for a chance to win a hardback copy and who doesn’t love getting a book for free?

Mr. Goodman has graciously offered four copies as prizes.

image

Okay, here are the rules for this giveaway and you must follow them or your entry will be thrown out. I had to do that with a few on the last giveaway so please follow them closely.

Mandatory for first entry – if you don’t do this then no entries will count:

Visit the author’s website and then leave me a comment either about the book or something about Mr. Goodman.

You must do this first before any other entries. Comments like, “I want to win” or “please enter me” without answering the requirement will get your comment deleted. The sponsor is graciously giving this for free so please visit the site. :0)

Extra entries:

  • Subscribe to Delaney’s World – 1 entry (counts if you already do)
  • Follow me on Twitter (leave your ID) – 1 entry (counts if you already do)
  • Tweet this giveaway (can do daily, leave link to tweet) – 1 entry
  • Stumble or Digg this Giveaway (buttons at bottom) – 1 entry
  • Blog about this Giveaway (leave link) – 3 entries

Please leave a comment for every entry

Make sure I can contact you! Leave email or Twitter id in your comment!

    This Giveaway will end on Monday, February 1st at 9:00 pm CST.  Winner will be notified either on your blog, twitter or email and you have 48 hours to get back with me or another winner will be chosen.

USA – 18+

No PO Boxes please

This giveaway is listed at All Things Bloggy.

I Pledge To Always Be Ethical And Blog With Integrity:

Ethical Blogger BlogWithIntegrity.com