Photobucket

Please tell me I’m not alone in this but I really, really wish that we were done with the holidays. I hate to be a Grinch, but this is just not my time of the year. We have a small family which are all grown (except new grand baby) and shopping for adults just bites the big one. When the kids were little I had fun getting prepared for all of the hoo-hah of the season but now? Nah, just can’t get in the mood – at least not yet.

My birthday is in December and I know there are other December people out there *(Linda)* and you know what I mean. Sucks having a birthday any where near Christmas. My gift for the last 5 years from either my husband or my son has been for the 3 of us to go to dinner and/or a movie. Just about all there is to do around here and our restaurants ain’t that whoopee.  The guys just can’t figure out what to get me even when I leave hints or flat out show them a few things I like so you can guess how well my Christmas gifts go too.

We haven’t put a Christmas tree up for the last 4 years and it is usually fairly non-holiday-ish around the old homestead. This year I asked Hubby to at least put up some lights. I now have lights put up both inside and outside which makes it a bit more festive.

I know that getting gifts isn’t the spirit of Christmas and commercialization has just about destroyed the true meaning of the season. I’m just really tired of being depressed every December.

Oh well, maybe next year.

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,

Windows Live Tags: Humbug,Grinch,kids,mood,December,Sucks,Christmas,husband,dinner,movie,

gifts,tree,Hubby,lights,restaurants

WordPress Tags: Humbug,Grinch,kids,mood,December,Sucks,Christmas,husband,dinner,movie,

gifts,tree,Hubby,lights,restaurants

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Digg!

Bookmark and Share

Photobucket