I’m extremely frustrated and it’s all my blogging buddy’s fault. I love her dearly but yep, it’s all her fault.

I have been a happy camper just crocheting whenever the urge got me. I have been fascinated with the knitted sock craze but since I haven’t knitted since high school, where I failed miserably at knitting, I had to seek out crochet sock patterns that while there are some cute ones out there, are sorely lacking when compared to their knitted cousins.

I have envied  accomplished knitters out there. They can take yarn that looks crappy when crocheted and make something cute out of it. They have pattern choices that us crocheters don’t. While there are certain lacy crocheted items that are cool, most crocheted sweaters don’t hold a candle to knitted ones.

What’s all this got to do with me, friends and frustration you ask? Well I’ll tell you. My blogging buddy Linda over at Crap on a Crutch and Crone and Bear It, decided to take up knitting and it got me thinking that since I have a grandbaby on the way that maybe knitting would be good to try again.

I went to the store and bought one of the “Teach Yourself” kits since I don’t have the option of going to a cool yarn store like Linda does to have someone teach me. Oh, I do but it is about 40 miles away and I’m just too cheap and lazy to drive that far so I have been slugging through the DIY of learning to knit again. Egad!

I can’t get the new fangled way of casting on so I relied on the old method and I suck when it comes to reading diagrams so I went to the wonderful internet and watched a video on how to purl. After many attempts to knit, numerous swear words and lots of taking everything apart, I have finally gotten to this point in making a dishcloth:

I think that the knitting and the yarn are winning this battle. One good thing is that the washcloths or dishcloths are the perfect size for learning to knit. Not too much yarn needed, you don’t feel too bad if you have to start over and you can learn lots of different stitches.

I was lucky that the video I watched was made by a lady that obviously had crocheted first because you are supposed to hold the yarn in your right hand if you are right handed but in crocheting it is the opposite and she showed how to do it the “right” way and the crocheter’s version since we are used to it on the left.

I have decided to forge ahead and continue in my efforts into the realm of knitting even though it frustrates the hell out of me. See, if you drop a stitch in crocheting, no problem – knitting? OMG! And I have a helluva’ time keeping everything on the needles. I really suck at this right now and man do my hands ache! Big difference between the two, that’s for sure.

I just need to keep thinking, “Grandbaby, Socks, Sweaters..oh my” and forge ahead into knitting hell and try to persevere.

Linda, Love ya’ but you created a monster because I am a mule when it comes to being stubborn and I hate to admit defeat whenever I attempt something so I will blame you for my frustrations. I sincerely hope you are having an easier time than I am.

By the way, was this pay back for getting you hooked on True Blood and Charlaine Harris?

 

image

 

image

 

image

see what you can crochet?

 

Technorati Tags: ,,,,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,

WordPress Tags: knit,knitting,Friends,Frustration,buddy,craze,yarn,Linda,Crap,Crutch,Bear,

Grandbaby,Sweaters,Love,True,Blood,Charlaine,Harris,crochet

Check these bloggers out for more fun and interesting information at Humor-Blogs and Blogerella Find more blogs at Blogerella

Find more blogs at Humor Blogs

Digg!

Bookmark and Share
 

page counter

 Photobucket