Just had a rough half hour. Freddie had a seizure and these are not pretty. I had another Dachshund named Sydney that used to have them as well. Sometimes it is a defect with the breed because neither of them had epilepsy. Usually it is because of a nerve that gets pinched off in their back due to old age or in Freddie’s case, an overweight dog that gets a bit constipated. His is scarier than Sydney’s was because if he can just potty he will be fine but he can’t really do it during the seizure so we wind up in a catch-22. These don’t happen all the time, he hasn’t had one for months, but when they happen now they are longer lasting and he is wiped out for the rest of the day. Also having this happen at 2am with him falling out of bed and landing on his back in spasms tends to wake you up in a hurry with a whole lot of worrying going on.

Humans have a similar issue called vasovagal episodes, which cause sweating, light headedness, tremors and fainting and can happen when you are constipated. It is just worse in a dog causing a full blown seizure.

Just too much excitement, too early in the morning and not the way I wanted to start my day. Needless to say while Freddie gets a mild tranquilizer and goes back to bed with Hubby, I am wide awake and on the computer. What else is new?

Okay, it is gonna be a good day since it is Saturday and I get to finally get out of the house later even if it is just going to town and grocery shop, get a much needed haircut and maybe, lunch out. So on that note let me see if I can make us all smile at least a little bit. Ain’t promising much, but here goes.

I found some interesting photos from Flickr of Origami that I want to share with you just for a change of pace.

by-cknniwator on Flickr

by-cknniwator on Flickr

By: Ninha Morandini on Flickr

By: Ninha Morandini on Flickr

Modular Origami By: F. Decomite on Flickr

Modular Origami By: F. Decomite on Flickr

Snub Dodecahedron By: F. Decomite on Flickr

Snub Dodecahedron By: F. Decomite on Flickr

And last but not least a piece of Origami I found very interesting

Triceratops By Kekremsi on Flickr

Triceratops By Kekremsi on Flickr

Personally, I don’t think I have the patience nor the talent to do something like Origami. I could barely do those silly paper whatchamacallits when we were kids that you manipulated with your fingers and had someone pick a number or a color then you moved them around then read what was under the flap. Anyone remember what I’m talking about and what they are called? Dr. House used one on an episode of House. Anyway, I’m rambling. Point is I could not make those pretty Origami thingies. But I can pick a pretty picture out for the end of this mess and I will stick with the Japanese theme. Please forgive me if this post isn’t up to snuff.

Pretty Picture for the Day

600_1235738847ftra5lr

Check these bloggers out for more fun and interesting information at Humor-Blogs and Blogerella

Find more blogs at Blogerella
Find more blogs at Humor Blogs

page counter

Photobucket