I’m going to talk seriously before posting my usual post of fun pictures.

I answered a inquiry on BC about tattoos. The person starting the thread wanted to know if anyone had tattoos and/or piercings. I answered since I am tattooed and my ears are pierced. One of the responders suggested that those of us with tats pop over to a blog where the woman was being ripped up because of her choice to have a “half sleeve” done. I could not believe the comments posted on her blog! I knew that some people are very anti-tattoo but goodness – and a lot of the individuals ripping into her were spouting “christian beliefs” for the reasons but the comments were mostly spewing derision and hate mongering.

If someone wants to judge me based on the fact that I have tattoos, then they are missing out, I’m not since I don’t think I want to know them. What I read was mainly the old stereotypes that are still being perpetuated especially where women are concerned, but what I found most disturbing is that these negative snap judgments would not have been made if we didn’t tell you or show you that we have tattoos.


My ink doesn’t change the person I was for the first 50 years of my life or who I am now, I just happen to have ink now and didn’t then. I understand now what tattooed people have had to go through and it is a shame that people will still judge one another based on appearance only.

I have shown tattoos I think are funny or stupid; people with tattoos do get some dumb things on occasion but everyone does that with either clothes, makeup or hairdo. We have all had fashion disasters and bad choices for haircuts. Tattoos are just more permanent which is why I stress thinking seriously about your tattoo before getting one to make sure it is what you want and that your artist can do a good job.

You know, it takes all kinds to be a part of this world, especially this country so cut us inked folks some slack and realize we are human beings too and not freaks.

Photobucket

And now for regularly scheduled program🙂

poor doggie!

poor doggie!

Photobucket

Our Pretty Picture for the Day

page counter