2008 and we still have men and women being judged every day for deciding to have something as simple as a tattoo inked on their body. Too large of a portion of America in particular, perceive tattoos as something “bad” or as a sign that the person getting them doesn’t have good judgment. The most typical stereotype of a male with tattoos is one of either a punk rocker or a criminal or a biker. Females that would lower themselves to be tattooed were either biker chicks, punk rockers and of course, have loose morals.

Men and women of various professional backgrounds now get tattoos regularly along with the average tattoo wearer. Tattoos cross all social and economic levels and shows no bias. It is simply used as a freedom of expression in an artist manner. Point blank, that is it. Unfortunately, individuals insist on reading more into it and that is where part of the continuing stigma comes to play. People don’t like to have their preconceived ideas mucked around. It was easier when guys with a tattoo either were in jail or were a biker. Women just weren’t tattooed if they were a “good” girl.

These stereotypes are extremely outdated and asinine now as even mothers and older people are being tattooed. Anyone and everyone are getting them, as there no longer is a “type” to get tattoos. Unfortunately, employers still have a say about the acceptability of tattoos if it is in their dress code. They can say no to visible tattoos as long as they are consistent across the board about it. If you have tattoos that can be covered up, you do have a better chance of being hired in corporate America. Tattoos should not affect your hiring status any more than your color, weight, race or anything else except your ability to do the job. Sadly, ask any over-weight person, or disabled, minority, etc. and those stigmas are still rampant as well.

One of the stereotypes that really pisses me off is the so called “tramp stamp.” Now I am a woman and I have tattoos but I didn’t get mine until I was 50 and no I didn’t get any on my lower back. I detest the notion though that just because a young, cute woman gets a tattoo on the lower part of her back, that it instantly means that she is advertising that she wants, is asking for, sex. She has every right to get this tattoo, just as every man has every right to place a tattoo anywhere he so chooses on his body without the sexist judgment. Now three guesses which sex probably came up with this stereotype? It is wrong and shame on the women that agree with it. Unless the tattoo blatantly states something obviously sexual, don’t read something into it.

These are examples of tattoos that fit these women perfectly and are extremely well done. Under no circumstances could they be considered “tramp stamps” and for people that are in the tattoo community to perpetuate this kind of misconception and stereotyping is wrong and just continues the stigmas that are attached to tattoos that we try and fight.

butterfly

blue bird

Photos and Tattoo Designs by Daemon Rowanchilde @ Urban Primative

Women should not be afraid of what anyone is going to think about them if they get a tattoo. You should not be judged based on your gender any more than a man is and you should be able to wear your ink as proudly as any man without judgment based on the placement of that ink any more than a man is.

I waited for a long time before getting one and even after my first tattoo. It took three years before I got brave enough to get my first tattoo that I couldn’t cover up and hide from the world. It feels good to go out now and not care what anyone else thinks about my ink. Because it is, my ink, and I got it for me and no one else and that is what took me all these years to learn. You have to tattoo for yourself, not because someone talks you into it, or because they say, “hey get this one, its cool.” You have to choose to tattoo because it is something that draws you to it. You have to choose your ink because it is something that you really want on you for the rest of your life, and hopefully, because it means something to you.

You are the one who decides if you can live with the stereotyping and the stigmas that go with getting a tattoo. They are there and we that have tattoos are shattering these quietly on a daily basis, just by having our tattoos and not being afraid to go out and be seen. Sometimes people look at you funny and you get to decide how you deal with it. I smile, glance at my tattoo and smile bigger then go on my way. Then I think about what and where my next tattoo is going and how that’s going to blow their minds even more and my smile, gets even bigger and they just made my day.

page counter